Poker rooms View all

Fulpot Poker VIP Race x2, Asian room
Wind Poker Klas Poker
PokerStars $600 bonus, $20 FREE
Full Tilt Poker $600 bonus, $25 FREE
Sky Poker £500 bonus, £20 FREE
888 poker £230 bonus, £12 FREE
Betsafe €1,000 bonus,
Winamax €500 bonus, €15 FREE

Qui Nguyen Wins 2016 WSOP Main Event for $8 Million

3 November, 2016 | 16:25 от Aleksandra


Qui Nguyen has 8 million reasons to smile after winning the 2016 WSOP Main Event

Yesterday, just three players returned to play for the main event title at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino. Each player had already won $3,453,035, but all three had their eyes on the first-place prize.

In the end, the title went to the 39-year-old professional gambler Qui Nguyen, who had previous tournament earnings of $52,896.

Here’s a look at their stacks entering the final day.

  1. Qui Nguyen — 197,600,000
  2. Gordon Vayo — 89,000,000
  3. Cliff Josephy — 50,000,000

Although short stack Josephy managed to double up a couple of times during the final day, he was sent to the rail when his Qd3d failed to catch up against the Kh6d of Vayo.

Cliff Josephy earned $3,453,035 for his third place, which is the largest score in his career. Now he has almost $6,1 million in live tournament winnings.

At the beginning of the heads-up battle, Vayo had the chip lead with 200,300,000, while Nguyen had 136,300,000. Nguyen won seven of the first nine heads-up pots, however, and was able to take a slight chip lead.

Finally, the final hand came in. After a raise from Nguyen to 8,500,000 on the button, Vayo went all-in for 53,000,000 and Nguyen called with KcTc.

Vayo turned around JsTs. On the board came Kd9c7d2s3h, giving the pot and the title to Nguyen.

Vayo took home $4,661,228 for his runner-up performance, while Nguyen received  $8 million and a custom bracelet.

“I just want to thank all of my friends and family. I’m so excited; I don’t know what to say.”

Final results from the final table:

  1. Qui Nguyen – $8,005,310
  2. Gordon Vayo – $4,661,228
  3. Cliff Josephy – $3,453,035
  4. Michael Ruane – $2,574,808
  5. Vojtech Ruzicka – $1,935,288
  6. Kenny Hallaert     – $1,464,258
  7. Griffin Benger – $1,250,190
  8. Jerry Wong – $1,100,076
  9. Fernando Pons – $1,000,000